Everything You Need to Know About Factory Reset Protection



Through this article, we will let you know everything there is to know about the Factory Reset Protection, which keeps your data protected in case your phone gets stolen or lost.

FRP or Factory Reset Protection is a security software designed to protect your data in case your phone is lost or stolen. With this, nobody can wipe out your data and reset your phone.

Samsung frp bypass

Speaking of Android Lollipop first, the Factory Reset Protection in Vanilla Android is “Standard” and many mobile companies have implemented it in their own models. When you have this, it makes it less appealing for the thieves to steal your phone because it becomes harder to use your phone. However, it becomes a problem if you give your phone away or sell it without factory resetting your device. We have explained below how it becomes a problem for you.



To factory reset your device, you need to make sure that you have signed in with the “owner account”, the which which you used to set it up. This means that for another person to factory reset your device, you have to be signed in to the device. Most random workarounds are available on the internet but the problem with that is they get patched easily once they have been discovered. Thus, you need to know the details of the account which was last logged in, in order to use your phone before resetting it and creating a new account.

What is Factory Reset Protection?

It is pretty easy to disable the Factory Reset Protection. It is automatically disabled on most of the phones when you decide to do it by going to the phone’s settings. However, sometimes there is an additional layer of protection which is built by the company who developed the device. In that case, the person has to manually disable the factory reset protection first.

There are a few devices which still require you to do a bit of manual work. Mostly, it occurs in Android 5.1.1 and because of that, you might have to manually remove the accounts which have already been signed in to your device. Follow the following instructions to do so:

  1. The first step is to open the settings of your device and remove the security which you have for the lock screen. Not every phone requires this step to be followed, but a few phones do and because of that, we have included this step.
  2. After that is done, remove all the Google Accounts which you have on the phone or tablet, whatever you are using. After that, you will see an option caller “Labeled Accounts”, select an account and then click on remove or delete option. You might find the option of deleting or removing on the top corner of your screen, behind the three dots.
  3. Once all the accounts have been been erased, you can easily reset all your device by going to the device settings.
  4. For phones running on Android 6 Marshmallow and above, you will not come across any problems if you choose to reset your phone by going on the device settings. By doing that, your phone will automatically remove the accounts in such a way that your phone is free from FRP.

To make sure that you have successfully removed the reset protection from your device, you can try to sign in again once you have reset your phone. If you are asked to enter your old username, that means your FRP is still enabled. However, if you are not asked to enter your old username, you are good to enter a new username and password.

If you have given your phone away without removing the FRP, then you will have only two options to get it removed. You can either give them the password of your Google account or you can make sure they return you the phone for some time and then you can turn off FRP on your device.

You must not give your Google password to someone unless you are on the phone with them or you are around them. Once you give them the password, make sure to verify that this worked and are able to proceed further. Once done, immediately change your Google password and other platforms which use the same password, for your security.

Another thing which you need to make sure is that you must not delete or erase the Google account from another phone for at least 72 hours after you have done this. You might get locked out of your account if you try this and then, you will have to speak to the Google Customer Care to resolve the issue which you’d be facing.

Conclusion

Factory Reset Protection is a good way to protect your precision data in case your phone is lost or stolen. However, enabling this does not mean that your phone will never be stolen. There are still chances of your phone getting stolen. Enabling Factory Reset Protection only makes sure that your data is safe in case of a mishap.



Leave a Comment